英文法文正体中文简体中文
To Teens SiteView Partners
Special Challenges

孩子们想知道什么呢?

青少年渴望和患病的家人相处时,能减少挫败感、尴尬和愤怒,并希望医生、治疗师能提供具体的指引去使自己的亲人忙碌起来。强迫孩子们与患脑退化症的家庭成员“花时间”,可能会增加双方压力。相反,父母和朋友应该鼓励青少年找到双方都满意的活动而不用强迫彼此交流。分享的建议包括看电影(大部分时间都不用说话,这减轻了沟通的负担)、棋牌类游戏、散步、或翻阅家庭相簿/观看家庭电影以重温美好的回忆。

他们想了解疾病,但不用很详细,如果将精力花在寻找实质和难以理解的诊断上,倒不如花在其他地方。如果孩子想学得愈多,他们就会问得愈多,这种情况通常会随着孩子的年纪而增长,年纪较大的青少年会渴望追求更多的知识。大多数情况下,他们希望得到安全感,你是能够处理得到而,并得到帮助,尽管这样的悲剧发生在你的家庭,你都会找到快乐的。

如何和何时告诉他们呢?

基本上,孩子们会宁愿一早得知事实,所以不要为努力保护他们而等待。这是行不通的,因为他们知道有些事情是不妥当的。在谈话当中分享这个消息,可让他们表达情感和提出问题。细节的深度可取决于儿童的年龄(11 岁以上的儿童会想知道得更多),他们有判断能力知道自己可以理解多少,并且他们可以指引你。

青少年能迅速掌握实际或可能出现的症状,随着诊断的时间过去,他们可能已经经历了很多奇怪的行为。他们通常会感到莫大的悲哀,但会因为认识疾病对亲人引起的变化而得到纾缓。当听到每一个病人的行为都会有不同时,有些人会感到惊讶和安慰。成年人需要提醒孩子,没有两个病人是完全一样的,亦没有一个病人会出现所有症状。唯一不变的就是病人是不可预测的。当孩子们知道这一点,他们可以将自己与亲人的不愉快相处归咎于疾病本身,这可以纾缓他们的痛苦。

如欲了解更多资讯,可浏览专门为儿童及青少年,以及有亲人被诊断出患有脑退化症的青少年而设的的网站:
www.lifeandminds.ca/whendementiaisinthehouse/sc/ts_home.html

EnglishFrenchTraditional ChineseSimplified Chinese
To Teens SiteView Partners
Special Challenges

What Do Kids Want to Know?

Teens yearn for interactions that diminish frustration, embarrassment, and anger, and want specific guidance from doctors, therapists, or relatives about how to engage their loved one. Pressuring kids "to spend time" with the family member suffering from dementia may add stress to each encounter. Instead, parents and friends should encourage adolescents to find mutually satisfactory activities without forcing exchanges. Shared suggestions include movies (no talking, for the most part, which eases the burden of communication), chess games, walks, or family photo album/ home movie viewing to revive good memories.

They want to understand the illness, but not in great detail, so energy spent obsessing about specific and often elusive diagnoses is better directed elsewhere. The more children want to learn, the more they will ask. Often, this evolves with their age, with older teenagers expressing a desire for more knowledge. Mostly, they want to feel secure that you will be able to manage, that you are getting help, and that despite this tragedy in your family, you will find happiness.

How and When to Tell Them?

Essentially, kids want to feel informed sooner rather than later, so don't wait in an effort to protect them. It doesn't work, because they will know something is wrong. Share the news in a conversation that allows them to express emotions and ask questions. The depth of details depends on the age of the child (kids 11 and older want more), but they have a very good sense of how much they can handle, and they can guide you.

Adolescents quickly grasp the actual or possible symptoms, because by the time the diagnosis rolls around, they've probably experienced a lot of odd behavior. They usually feel enormously sad - yet relieved - to learn that an illness has caused the changes in their loved one. But some are surprised and relieved to hear how much those behaviors can vary from one patient to another. Adults need to remind kids that no two patients are exactly alike, and no single patient exhibits all symptoms. Unpredictability is the only constant. When children know this, they can attribute all unpleasant interactions with their beloved family member to the illness, which can ease their anguish.

Learn more at the website constructed specifically for kids, adolescents, and teenagers who have a loved one diagnosed with dementia:
www.lifeandminds.ca/whendementiaisinthehouse/ts_home.html